Whole Foods to end plastic bags by Earth Day

paper-bags.jpgBlog and Run:

Whole Foods will be ending its use of disposable plastic grocery bags in all of its 270 stores by Earth Day, April 22

I, of course, applaud the end of plastic bags – but you can’t carry 10 paper bags at once – I guess it’s time to buy those reuseable grocery bags, which I will never remember to actually take to the store with me, so I will be continually buying them.

I predict an upswing in the stock of reuseable grocery bags.

read more | digg story

6 Responses to “Whole Foods to end plastic bags by Earth Day”

  1. Steve Rosenbaum Says:

    Here’s an odd solution. We were just picking up a few things at Costco this afternoon. Everything is so big it really doesn’t need to be boxed or bagged. In fact, some of the stuff is bigger than a bag.

  2. TheRoyston Says:

    I love Costco – I haven’t had an account for a couple of years though, because I spend way too much money at Costco 🙂 (and not enough cupboard space) – but you are right, we always did manage without bags there – I actually liked the way they packed things

  3. Shane Says:

    Yes, get a couple of those reusable grocery bags and get in the habit of putting them BACK in your car – in the trunk or under the seat – after you unpack your groceries. Then you never have to worry about were they are an you always have them with you when you are out shopping.

  4. TheRoyston Says:

    I think I’ll just buy 3 sets right off the hop and leave them in the car – should be enough to keep me constantly supplied – save myself the frustration of standing in line thinking – “Dang, I forgot the bags” 🙂

  5. mbjesq Says:

    Carrying cloth bags is an easy, principled thing we can all do.

    In India, plastic bags are an even bigger environmental disaster, because so many people are in the habit of throwing their trash wherever they happen to be standing at the moment. So it’s pretty cool that a hot, young, Indian clothing designer has taken a fresh look at the cloth bag revolution by injecting high-fashion, ease-of-use, and distribution within the gift-economy.

    The story of her project, called Small Steps, is utterly inspiring. Read about it here.

  6. You Can Still Start A Business in A Recession « The Royston Daily Business Review For Women Says:

    […] not profitable, and there’s nothing wrong with that.  I wasn’t kidding about the designer grocery bags – with plastics being banned with increasing freqency, it’s going to take a special bag to […]


Leave a Reply

